## **Eppleton parish and All Saints Church**

On the 19<sup>th</sup> July 1883 at the Court at Windsor the Ecclesiastical Commissioners for England presented to Queen Victoria plans for the formation of the parish of Eppleton. The boundaries of the Parish are as follows:-

**West**: A point in the middle of Houghton Road commencing two chains (44 yds) S.E. of Rough Dene to a point in the middle of the west end of Caroline Street.

North: Rough Dene Burn

**South**: Caroline Street. Downs Pit Lane and then Carr House Lane to Carr House Plantation, one mile and seven furlongs in total.

**East**: Carr House Plantation (In Dalton le Dale parish) a parish of Seaham with Seaham Harbour in a northerly line.

On November 10<sup>th</sup> 1883 the first meeting of the vicar of the nominated church brought about the election of the Vicar's warden and the people's warden. Sidemen were also elected along with a verger, a bell ringer and a lady to the school and make the church ready for church services.

The first service was held was held in the parish on November 18<sup>th</sup> and a week later 300 were present for the first Sunday school. Fifteen teachers were appointed and they were to be installed on a teachers' preparation class. By mid January of the following year a ladies committee had been formed and they were committed to fund-raising towards the cost of the building of a church.

On November 10<sup>th</sup> 1884 a church institute was opened and the following month a Musical Society was formed in connection with the church. The first vicar, the Rev. W.H. Illingworth was not in position very long as the second vicar, the Rev. R. Hindle commenced duties early in 1886.

The foundation stone of the church was laid in November 1886 by Mrs Lindsay Wood and the church was completed and consecrated on December 20<sup>th</sup> 1887. The church was dedicated by Bishop Lightfoot to All Saints. An organ was installed and built in 1894 by Harrison and Harrison of Durham at a cost of £400.

## **List of Rectors**

Rev. W. H. Illingworth	1883	Rev. J. Nicholson	1963
Rev. R. Hindle	1886	Rev. J.W.S. Wilson	1971
Rev. D. Cowling	1915	Rev. J.J. Stephenson	1979
Rev. G. Salisbury	1930	Rev. M. L. Beck	1997
Rev. V.F.P. Davies	1952		